Zegers named ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year


DURHAM- With the 2022 collegiate fencing season on the books, 10 Duke fencers combined have earned berths on the All-ACC varsity men’s and women’s fencing teams, the conference office announced Wednesday. junior sabrist Anneke Zegers was named ACC Women’s Scholarly Athlete of the Year in Fencing.

Four Blue Devil men and six women were named to the list. Seniors Alex Gorman and Zoe Supervillejunior Finn Hoessfeld, Terence Lee and Zegers, sophomores Christine Ferrari, Stephen Kim, Sarah Lurie and David Tierney and freshman Rachel Kowalski won their place.

Five of the 10 qualified for the NCAA Championship, including All-America winners Ferrari, Hossfeld and Lee, while Ferrari, Kowalsky, Lee, Lurye and Tierney won ACC Championship medals.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Teams, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.0 GPA for the previous semester and a GPA during their college career as an undergraduate. Sporting achievements from the most recent season were also considered in the selection process.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all student-athletes in the conference with a 3.0 grade point average for the current academic year, will be released in July.

For more information on Duke fencing, follow the Blue Devils on TwitterFacebook and Instagram by searching “DukeFEN”.


2022 All-ACC Academic Men’s Fencing Team
Bin Huang***, Boston College, Fleuret, Jr., Finance
Bolang Meng****, Boston College, Saber, Sr., Business Analytics
Brian Wang, Boston College, Foil, Jr., Business Analytics

Finn Hoessfeld**, Duke, Foil, Jr., public policy

Stephen Kim**, Duke, Saber, So., English

Terence LeeDuke, Saber, Jr., Mathematics and Computer Science

David TierneyDuke, Foil, So., World Cultural Studies
James Mulligan***, North Carolina, Fleuret, Sr., Environmental Sciences
Cameron Santos, NC, Sword, Jr., Business Administration
Henry Shugart**, North Carolina, Epee, So., Statistics and Analysis

Hunter Candreva, Notre Dame, Sword, Jr., Finance
Stephen Ewart**, Notre Dame, Epee, Sr., Business Analytics
Jared Smith, Notre Dame, Saber, Sr., Mechanical Engineering

2022 All-ACC Academic Women’s Fencing Team
Laura Boden, Boston College, Sword, Sr., International Studies

Christine Ferrari**, Duke, Foil, So., Linguistics

Alex Gorman***, Duke, Saber, Sr., Public Policy and International Comparative Studies

Rachel KowalskiDuke, Sword, Fr., Undeclared

Sarah LurieDuke, Sword, So., Undeclared

Zoe Superville****, Duke, Fleuret, Sr., IT

Anneke Zegers**, Duke, Saber, Jr., English
Sophia Mandour, North Carolina, Foil, Jr., Media and Journalism
Amita Berthier, Notre Dame, Foil, Jr., Sociology
Miriam Grady****, Notre Dame, Epee, Sr., Science-Business
Kaylin Hsieh, Sword, So., Marketing
Dasha Kudriavtseva, Notre Dame, Saber, So., IT
Kara Linder, Notre Dame, Saber, Sr., Environmental Science
Amanda Pirkowski, Notre Dame, Sword, So., Marketing
Nicole Pustilnik, Notre Dame, Fleuret, Fr., Pre-professional sciences

Fat awarded ACC Fencing Scholar-Athletes of the Year
* indicates individual All-ACC Academic Honors number


Comments are closed.