The new Fayetteville City Council is sworn in at the ribbon-cutting ceremony


FAYETTEVILLE, NC (WTVD) — The City of Fayetteville ushered in a new era with a dedication ceremony for the last City Council on Thursday.

The ceremony took place at Fayetteville State University’s Seabrook Auditorium.

Mayor Mitch Colvin is entering his third term. Four newcomers were also sworn in for city council seats for the first time. Brenda McNair was sworn in for District 7. Deno Hondros was sworn in for District 9. Derrick Thompson was sworn in for District 6. Mario Benavente was also sworn in for District 3 after maintaining a very slim lead over Antonio Jones , his predecessor.

Residents told ABC11 they would like to see the new council prioritize safety and infrastructure improvements in Fayetteville.

“We walk our dogs every day and there just aren’t many places where pedestrians can walk without fear of getting hit by a car or things like that. And then I noticed that there there aren’t a lot of bike lanes,” Cassandra said. Cutbirth.

Another resident also expressed concerns about safety.

“Sometimes, as a young woman walking alone, I just wish I felt a little safer,” Jenna Hansen said. “Not necessarily downtown, but around like the Skibo area, places like that. I wouldn’t feel safe sitting alone in my car.”

The new council will hold its first meeting on Hay Street to discuss town business on August 22.

Copyright © 2022 WTVD-TV. All rights reserved.


Comments are closed.