Eagles Land Four on ACC All-Academic Fencing Teams


GREENSBORO, North Carolina –Four Eagles have represented Boston College fencing on ACC varsity fencing teams, as announced by the conference Wednesday.

Bin Huang, Bolang Mengand Brian Wang were all part of the men’s team, while Laura Boden represented women.

Meng is the only fencer to be part of the all-academic team for all four years, as he recently won the 2022 Weaver-James-Corrigan-Swofford Graduate Scholarship. Meng is a business analyst who has made the ACC Semifinals while earning All Northeast Region honors last season.

Huang, a finance student, is a three-time member. He qualified for the NCAA championships this season. Wang, a finance major, is part of the all-academic team for the first time this season. He finished second in the ACC in foil.

Boden, an international studies major, is on the all-academic team for the first time in her career. She reached the semi-finals of the ACC Epee Championships.

The CCA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were established in September 2007 to be presented annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Applicants for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 cumulative grade point average for their career, as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

The minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 cumulative grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative grade point average during one’s college career. Athletic accomplishments during the most recent season are also considered in All-ACC Academic Team selection.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all student-athletes in the conference with a 3.0 grade point average for the current academic year, will be released in July.

2022 All-ACC Academic Men’s Fencing Team

Bin Huang***, Boston College, Foil, Jr., Finance

Bolang Meng****, Boston College, Saber, Sr., Business Analytics

Brian WangBoston College, Foil, Jr., Business Analytics
Finn Hossfeld**, Duke, Foil, Jr., Public Policy
Stephen Kim**, Duke, Saber, So., English
Terence Lee, Duke, Saber, Jr., Mathematics and Computer Science
David Tierney, Duke, Foil, So., Global Cultural Studies
James Mulligan***, North Carolina, Fleuret, Sr., Environmental Sciences
Cameron Santos, NC, Sword, Jr., Business Administration
Henry Shugart**, North Carolina, Epee, So., Statistics and Analysis

Hunter Candreva, Notre Dame, Sword, Jr., Finance
Stephen Ewart**, Notre Dame, Epee, Sr., Business Analytics
Jared Smith, Notre Dame, Saber, Sr., Mechanical Engineering

2022 All-ACC Academic Women’s Fencing Team

Laura BodenBoston College, Sword, Sr., International Studies
Christina Ferrari, Duke, Foil, So., Linguistics
Alex Gorman***, Duke, Saber, Sr., Public Policy and International Comparative Studies
Rachel Kowalsky, Duke, Sword, Fr., Undeclared
Sarah Lurye, Duke, Sword, So., Unstated
Zoe Superville****, Duke, Fleuret, Sr., Computer Science

Anneke Zegers**, Duke, Saber, Jr., English
Sophia Mandour, North Carolina, Foil, Jr., Media and Journalism
Amita Berthier, Notre Dame, Foil, Jr., Sociology
Miriam Grady****, Notre Dame, Epee, Sr., Science-Business
Kaylin Hsieh, Sword, So., Marketing
Dasha Kudriavtseva, Notre Dame, Saber, So., IT
Kara Linder, Notre Dame, Saber, Sr., Environmental Science
Amanda Pirkowski, Notre Dame, Sword, So., Marketing
Nicole Pustilnik, Notre Dame, Fleuret, Fr., Pre-professional sciences

Bold awarded ACC Fencing Scholar-Athletes of the Year
* indicates individual All-ACC Academic Honors number


Comments are closed.